Array

What Happens to Your Driver’s License If You’re Arrested For DUI in California

Must Read

Instant Student Loans – Fulfill Your Educational Requirements

Loans for student are very important for today's college going generation as the education has become very costly. Now...

Combine Mortgage Prepaying and Equity Lines of Credit and Save Thousands

Mortgage PrepayingMortgage prepaying consists on cancelling part or the total amount of the mortgage loan remaining debt. If the...

What’s the Number One Quality You Need in a Criminal Defense Lawyer?

I am a criminal defense attorney. That doesn't make me a special person. But it does give me a...
Admin
test

Initial Procedures. If you are arrested for DUI (or drunk driving) in California, you should have been given a choice of a chemical test of your breath or blood. If you take a breath test and the results are .08% blood-alcohol or higher, your driver’s license will be taken by the officer and you will be given a Notice of Suspension. This pink document operates both to formally advise you of the immediate suspension and as a temporary permit to drive (unrestricted) for thirty days. If you give a blood rather than breath sample in a California DUI case, the results will probably not be available for a few days; the suspension begins but will be conditional upon later results being over .08%. If you should refuse to take a chemical test, your license will still be confiscated but the period of suspension will be substantially longer.Out-of-State Drivers. If you are an out-of-state driver, the police in California cannot confiscate your license, as it is the property of another state government. You will receive the same Notice of Suspension, but this serves only to suspend your driving privilege within the state of California; your license remains valid outside of the state. You should be aware, however, that your state’s motor vehicle department will probably suspend your license upon being notified by the California DMV of the DUI license suspension.Administrative Penalties. A first drunk driving offense carries a suspension of 4 months. You should be aware, however, that this can be reduced to 1 month followed by work-restriction of 5 months if you file proof of insurance (the SR-22 form) and proof of enrollment in a state-approved DUI school. If you refused to take a chemical test, the suspension is for 1 year – and no work restriction is permitted. If this is a second offense within 10 years, the suspension is for one year, two if for a refusal – and again, no work restriction will be granted.Challenging the Suspension. You have a right to contest the suspension (called an Administrative License Suspension, or ALS). This is completely separate and apart from the criminal proceedings. It is strongly recommended that an ALS hearing be requested: There is a good chance of having the suspension thrown out. In any event, the worst thing that can happen is that you will receive the same suspension as if you had not requested a hearing

Latest News

Underlight As Accent, For Power and The Main Light for Photography

Underlighting, in which fill or accent light comes from under the topic, is not widely used technique in the traditional Portraits,...

How To Fix Overexposure As A Creative Tool, The Complete Guide

As an creative tool, overexposure is sort of underrated. What I’m close to propose could be a deliberate and well thought out technique for...

7D Mark II is Canon’s best DSLR cameras without full-frame sensor.

The expected long-awaited Canon EOS 7D Mark II are shipping in November for $ 1,799 without a lens. With a higher price tag, you...

Low key photography and How to isolate your subject.

Low key photography doesn’t depend on underexposure to make its point; the key to low key is that the majority of tones, even correctly...

High Key Lighting Techniques for Professional Photographers

I’ve written many times about high key lighting techniques and how to achieve them. The term “high key” is a bit misleading. As I’ve...

More Articles Like This